No realm timers...

Comments

• RonELuvv wrote: »

1. How would realm timers effect households with multiple players living there. For example, I play Hib but my room mate wants to play Mid. You couldn't do ISP's for that reason.

2. If you can't do ISP's for the reason listed above then what would stop people from still switching that have multiple accounts?

I am by no means a computer programmer but I would think you would either need to make this ISP based or account based. Both have work arounds and/or issues associated with them. How do you work around those issues and work arounds?

A short realm timer is only meant to keep people from switching between realms on a whim. I doubt many players have one account dedicated for each realm (it used to be a thing in the past when we could only have one realm per server but unlikely to be common today). Therefore, having multiple accounts is unlikely to be a major component of the problem. The perceived problem, at least from an RvR perspective, are those who switch realms to join the "winning" side on a short fuse. I am not buying that Albs switched to Hibs in order to compete against the Mid BG as I run the Hib BG during US prime. I suspect people switched because we were in a defensive position AND holding our own against both BGs (therefore more RPs). The whole reason I started leading a Hib US prime BG was to bring back the three-way action, not to shift back to two-way action as has been the situation for years.
    "The grab bag isn't for explaining every single class change decision or reasoning or that's all we would ever do." - John_Broadsword
    "The type of of dev communication of 30 mins a day updates mentioned here just isn't feasible." - Carol_Broadsword
    "Our Studio. Our Rules." - http://www.mythicentertainment.com/
  • edited January 2019 PM